Black Bean Enchiladas

Last night, I wanted to use up some black beans and avocados that I had laying around. I was sort of sick of burritos, which we have bi-monthly at a minimum, and haven’t made enchiladas in ages. So I scoured the web (ok, just browsed the first page of hits that came up when I googled “black bean enchiladas”) and found two recipes that sounded promising. I used the sauce recipe from Budget Bytes recipe for Black Bean Enchiladas, and I used Minimalist Baker’s Black Bean Green Chili and Manchego Enchilada Recipe as a springboard for creating my own black bean filling.

The sauce from the Budget Bytes recipe was AMAZING. I made it exactly per the instructions, only I used 1 1/2 TB of Chili Powder rather than 2, to keep the heat down (it was perfect, but 2 TB would definitely not be too much heat).

To Minamalist Baker’s recipe, I subbed out Parmesan cheese for manchego (just what I had in the fridge), and added chopped onion and tomato to the filling as well.

I rolled them up in Santa Fe Whole Wheat Tortillas from Costco (love these!), drenched them in the sauce, and baked them at 350 for about 20-25 minutes, until the sauce was bubbling.

They were delicious, but the sauce made them. I will definitely be using this recipe again! Thanks Budget Bytes!

Leave a comment

Filed under Mexican Food, Quick and Easy

Leave a Reply

